X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Groin Injury...Acupuncture?

This past March I tore my groin in a game, and tried to play through it on the next whistle immediately after I did it, which was a retarhted idea, so as you can imagine, I totally F-ed it up. I have been to Physical Therapy, so now I want to know, should I try acupunture? Anybody have any experience with it?

How's your PT going? What do you want acupuncture to do for you? Do you hope it will make your tendon heal faster?

Comment

From what I've hear the scientific explanation for accupuncture is this. That because you have needles sticking in you, your body reacts by releasing natural pain killers, endomorphine, etc... Thus reducing pain. The article even said that against what they want you to think that it doesn't matter where you're poked, it will have the same effect. I doubt it would make anything heal faster... But I'm no expert...

Comment

I did a trial acupuncture combined with an electro stim as part of an medical experiement at the U of MN when I was a student. I don't know if I healed faster; what I do know is that I got some pain relief and I didn't have to take relaxers and narcotics for pain control.

Comment

I don't know what you expect from the acupuncture, but it won't be a quick miracle cure. Have you been stretching or working out since the injury? If yes, why?

Comment

I'm no doctor, but I've been told that if you respond well to acupuncture it will speed up healing.

It doesn't work for everyone, but I had a terrible hamstring pull that acupuncture did wonders for.

Comment