X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hyperextended shoulder

I hyperextended my shoulder around thanks-giving and it hasn't been that same since. What can i do to get it feeling normal again?

See a doctor about it since you might have a torn or damaged muscle in the rotator cuff.

Till then take about 2500-3000mgs of IBUPROFEN (not aspirin or acetominophen) a day (over 3-4 periods to prevent stomach upset) and totally lay off the shoulder.
    Ibuprofen has a antiinflammatory effect as opposed to just masking the pain. It has medicinal value in actually healing the injury rather than just covering the pain.

I'm not a doctor though, so you might check with a pharmacist or doctor but I think they'll agree. The dosage I mentioned is just under what you'd get in a prescription (up to 4000mg/day)- which you'll certainly get anyway when you see your doctor.
    Bernie

Comment

See a doctor...and in addition to the ibuprofen for anti-inflammation as described by Bernie ice your shoulder in a neutral position for a 15 min. duration every 4-5 hours. Do not leave the ice on for any longer than 15 min. though, you could cause more irritation.
      If you really want to go whole hog you can alternate the ice treatment with some heating pads, heat first for 12-15 min followed by the ice for 15 min. Find a good orthopod and get it checked out... good luck to you.

Comment

anymore than 800mg of motrin at anyone time is no longer theraputic, it will eat your stomach usually the script for an adult is 800mg every 8 hrs/three time a day. Then again I was taking 2400mg ever 8.. So I probably have a ulcer somewhere.. 2400mg a day. Rest, Ice, Elevation.. if you have a sling or shoulder immoblizer use it.. Being that this injury is over a month be sure to consult your physician if your home treatment is not working...

Comment