A Guide to Creating a Good Senior/Men's League

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A Guide to Creating a Good Senior/Men's League

I noticed a post on the inconsistencies of stats and levels of teams in Men's leagues and it got me thinking. I decided that I could contribute a beneficial post on how to create a solid men's league or make the men's league you currently play in better, based on my experience of creating a very professional men's league from the ground up.

The background: I am a college student in SE Minnesota, unfortunately our school lacks a hockey team, a club hockey team and a hockey league; although we have a large amount of good former high school and junior players. Also unfortunate is that the town also lacks a men's league, instead it is more of a drop in old timers. My friends and I created a 2 on 2 league for ourselves and as people heard about it, they became interested in playing. Also last year I drove 45 minutes to play in a men's league that was ridiculous, the stats were terrible, horrible scheduling, teams that would show up drunk and teams that were stacked, were just a few of the problems.

Fast forward to now, we turned our 2 on 2 league into a real league with 4 teams. We have legitimate teams, uniforms, scheduling, etc.

Here is how it happened and what you need to do the same:

1) Dedicated league officials who are willing to use their own time to make the league run well, our league takes up a lot of my time, but once the structure is in place, you can spread the power out amongst other dedicated people and take a lot of the workload off.