X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NoCo Ice Center, Windsor CO - THUMBS DOWN

I'm kinda new to the whole, "Use a thread to rant" idea, but after what went down the other night, I just gotta vent. This might be a little long.

First off, there are several issues at play here, and in the interest of cautioning other members, I'm going to name some names. Not people, but the ice rink that this whole debacle centers around. Mods, if the situation absolutely necessitates it, asterisk out the offending names.

I play in the A league at Northern Colorado Ice Center, formerly Providence Ice Centre, in Windsor, Colorado. I have played there continuously for the last four years, and have moved up from the beginner league to the advanced league. In the last four-five months, the Colorado Eagles of the CHL bought out the rink (which was having some financial difficulties), renamed it, and brought in a fella I'll call Bill (NOT his real name) to run the rink. Bill brought with him a philosophy of rink management developed in Minnesota, which differs greatly in both enthusiasm for hockey and number of available players.

His ideas included, but were not limited to, increasing the number of protected players on a team from three, to ten. For the D league (beginner), this wasn't so much of a problem, because there is an abundance of weekend warriors and such sufficient to fill out eight 16 man teams. However, the A league (advanced) barely had enough players to fill out three and a half teams.