X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 34 + 1 [What does + 1 mean?]

Actually, I had this question posted with other questions when I was a newbie at this board. But I am wondering, what does + 1 mean for leg pads? Is this a significance for measuring your leg pads in anyway?

Thanks.

It means Standard sizing with one additional inch added to the thigh rise.

Comment

Originally posted by fuBar
      Actually, I had this question posted with other questions when I was a newbie at this board. But I am wondering, what does + 1 mean for leg pads? Is this a significance for measuring your leg pads in anyway?

Thanks.
      It means that the total length of the pads is 35" but the as far as where the knee lines up it is a 34" pad and an extra inch is added to the thigh rise.

So a 34+2" pad and a 36" pad (same brand) would be the same length but the knee area would be different. It would be lower in the 34+2 pad.

Hope this helps.

Comment

no it isnt... Certain pads have a certain "gear whore value". If you buy a set of pads, the last number, +somthing, is how much you increase your GSBB gearwhore score.

Comment

Originally posted by expatgoalie
          no it isnt... Certain pads have a certain "gear whore value". If you buy a set of pads, the last number, +somthing, is how much you increase your GSBB gearwhore score.

Great, now you're going to confuse him. He's supposed to slip into gear whorism, not be thrown to the wolves!

BTW, you DID ask this same question a couple of months ago.

http://www.goaliestore.com/board/showthread.php?t=43409

Are you like the chick in 50 First Dates? Do you read your own threads after people have posted responses? Anyway, here's a refresher:

http://wiki.goalieboard.com/Goalie_Dictionary
          Last edited by Eidolon; 03-17-2006, 09:01 AM.

Comment

Hey thanks a lot folks, this thread made a lot more sense to explain what the +1 is. But when should a person use the extra inch or two?