Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

best material to reduce oversliding & aid recovery ?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• best material to reduce oversliding & aid recovery ?

i'm new to the whole butterfly / slide / recovery techniques ......
    i've managed to figure out the attack angle, loose pads at the bottom & 1S skates w/ taller runners to prevent blow outs ..... but i seem to overslide & have trouble with recovery movements .... it feels like im swimming around & struggling to recover.

natrally, over time, i'll get more proficient, but have tried putting tape on the pads to build up snow & give me more "traction". [i saw that Hiller would have nylon on his knee landing area to reduce sliding]

has anyone had success with any specific material ? my latest test will be with soft velcro - self adhesive.

thanks in advance

H Dean,

Welcome to the world of goaltending . I've been a goalie since 1986 and I haven't heard of such a mod, to slow down a goalies movements along the ice. You might want to find some goalie lessons and work on your technique so you can have powerful slides, but in control as to not over slide.

PS - If anything, pad materials are allowing goalies to slide even faster than the jenpro allows. Both Bauer 1S and CCM Eflex3 use a speed-skin technology.
    Last edited by mb37; 04-18-2017, 01:28 PM.

Comment

I put WD-40 on the side of my pads to slide more...

Comment

just to clarify, i have been playing since 1978, started ice in 1990. mostly a stand up goalie at the beginning, now more of a hybrid.

i do understand that over time technique will improve, i have been watching many videos and experimenting at open hockey,

my question is more a question about material / modifications that anyone else has had success with in a attempt to get a modern pad ( i use Brian's NETZERO pads) have a bit more "grip"

thanks
        Last edited by dean42mvg; 04-19-2017, 11:07 AM.

Comment