Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

In search of gel (not foam, foamy-gel, air-gel) mask padding.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• In search of gel (not foam, foamy-gel, air-gel) mask padding.

The gel mask inserts I've been using for the past six years are finally starting to leak, and it's time to replace them.

Does anybody know of a manufacturer (perhaps not hockey-specific) or a DIY solution that could provide custom gel to line my mask?

Unfortunately, the old manufacturer, Maltese, has switched to foam instead of gel. I've tried their new foam neck-guard and compared it to their old gel one. I did an unscientific impact assessment on my neck, and the foam seemed to transmit far more of the impact force than the original gel. It's night and day, the gel feels way more protective.

In my mask, I've taken a number of hard shots, but the gel inserts have saved my bacon (ditto for the gel neck-guard). Maybe it's a combination of the gel properties, plus, in the mask, the fact that the plastic 'casing' the gel is in stretches elastically when the contents are under compression. Whatever the reason, the gel tops any foam I've tried for deadening impacts both light and hard. Foam seems to be good at one or the other. But to get both types of protection out of foam, you need to use two types together and thus it has to be thicker. The gel is thin *and* super protective for all whacks and whumps I get in net.

So anyway, I'm looking for solutions. I've contacted Maltese, but they can only offer their new air-gel/whipped-gel foam. Has anybody had any experience with or heard about something like the old style Maltese mask inserts? Perhaps a product not intended for hockey, but one that might fit the bill?

I'd rather not use a bunch of gel bra-inserts and Dr. Scholl's in my mask, but if that offers better impact protection that the foam available, I'd do it.